Magnet Lottery Application
You can access the Magnet Lottery Application here.

The Magnet Lottery Application for school year 2017-18
reopened on Monday, March 20, 2017 and will remain open through April 21, 2017.

Timeline of Lottery
Dec. 31, 2016 - Magnet Lottery Application closes at midnight.
Jan. 9, 2017 - NWSISD Magnet Lottery Application re-opens

Jan. 13, 2017 - Assignment notification letters mailed to students
Feb. 10, 2017 - Enrollment deadline for students assigned to magnet schools
Mar. 10, 2017 - Application deadline for Tier 2 lottery applications
Mar. 15-16, 2017 - Tier 2 magnet school lottery for available seats
Mar. 20, 2017 - NWSISD Magnet Lottery Application re-opens
Week of March 20, 2017 - Assignment notification letters mailed to students
Apr. 14, 2017 - Enrollment deadline for Tier 2 lottery students assigned to magnet schools
Apr. 21, 2017 - Magnet Lottery Application closed for year

We have a few changes in our offerings of magnet schools for the year 2017-18.
  • Earle Brown and Brooklyn Center Secondary will be transitioning from IB and Arts to STEAM beginning the 2017-18 school year. 
  • Birch Grove Elementary School for the Arts will now be accepting Pre-K applications.  (half day program). 
  • Edgewood Middle School STEAM is currently closed for open enrollment due to exceeding current student capacity. They will not be available for open enrollment this year.
A list of all magnet school offerings can be found here.

Please note that kindergarten students must be born on or before September 1, 2012 in order to be eligible for the 2017-18 school year.

NWSISD offers magnet schools from grades K-12 in three themes:  Arts, International Baccalaureate (IB), and STEM/STEAM (Science, Technology, Engineering, Arts, and Math). Click through our website to learn more about us!

For more information about the school districts in the NWSISD consortium, visit the links below.

Anoka-Hennepin School District    763-506-1000
Brooklyn Center Schools      763-561-2120
Buffalo-Hanover-Montrose Schools     763-682-8700
Elk River Area Schools     763-241-3400
Fridley Public Schools     763-504-5000
Osseo Public Schools     763-585-7350
Rockford Area Schools     763-477-9165

Only students that are legal residents of one of the eight NWSISD member school districts may apply to a magnet school through NWSISD.  If you are not sure which school district you live in, you can find out by using the MN Secretary of State's Pollfinder.